JEST is being conducted for admission to PhD /Integrated PhD. Programme in Physics, Theoretical Computer Science and Neuroscience or Computational Biology in one of the Participating Institutes may appear for the Joint Entrance Screening Test (JEST). JEST is the reputed examination takes place every year.  This test is commenced in the month of February every year. In order to be part of the examination. You need to fill the application form prior which is available usually from 15 November to 16 December.

Eligibility Criteria for JEST

For PhD Program in Physics

  • Candidates must have done M.Sc in Physics or M.Sc or M.E or M.Tech in related orders.

  • Candidates must have done M.Sc in Applied Mathematics or Applied Physics or Mathematics or Optics and Instrumentation or Electronics or Photonics will be taken as IIA.
  • B.Tech and BE will be considered at IMSc, IISc, IUCAA, ICTS-TIFR, RRI, IISER Mohali, NCRA-TIFR, JNCASR, IISER Thiruvananthapuram, IISER Pune and TIFR-TCIS
  • Candidates who are showing up the last year of B.Sc or giving first year of M.Sc in Physics, Astronomy, Applied Mathematics, Electronics are qualified to apply.
  • On the off chance that you have done M.Sc in Applied Physics, Engg Physics or Physics then it will be considered at IPR, at TIFR, Candidates who have done B.Tech, Engineering Physics and M.Sc Physics can apply for this.

For Integrated M.Sc/M.Tech-PhD Program

  • Candidates who have done BSc that will be considered for the Integrated M.Sc, PhD Program in Physics at SNBNCBS, HRI, NCRA-TIFR, ICTS-TIFR , IISER-Pune, TIFR-TCIS.
  • Candidates who have done unhitched Bachelor’s degree in Mathematics, Science, Computer Sci., Statistics and Engg IT will likewise be considered for affirmation in PhD Physics, Theoretical Computer Science (a portion of a coordinated PhD Program).

Age Limit  No age limit is applicable for JEST.

Details regarding the on-going programmes of JEST at different institutions are available at website

Exam Detail:

The questions for JEST will be based on the general syllabus of graduation and post-graduation level courses offered by various Indian universities and institutions; some questions from previous year’s examinations are available at 
Syllabus of Physics and Sample questions of Physics and Theoretical Computer Science are available at the official website 


JEST Participating Institutes:


ARIES – Aryabhatta Research Institute of Observational Sciences, Nainital


HBNI – Homi Bhabha National Institute, Mumbai.


HRI – Harish-Chandra Research Institute, Allahabad


ICTS – International Centre for Theoretical Sciences (TIFR), Bangalore


IGCAR – Indira Gandhi Centre for Atomic Research, Kalpakkam


IIA – Indian Institute of Astrophysics, Bangalore


IISc – Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore


IISER BHOPAL – Indian Institute of Science Education and Research Bhopal


IISER KOLKATA – Indian Institute of Science Education and Research Kolkata


IISER MOHALI – Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Mohali


IISER PUNE – Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Pune


IISER THIRUVANANTHAPURAM – Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Thiruvananthapuram


IIST – Indian Institute of Space Science  and Technology, Thiruvananthapuram


IMSc – The Institute of Mathematical Sciences, Chennai


IOP – Institute of Physics, Bhubaneswar


IPR – Institute for Plasma Research, Gandhinagar


IUCAA – Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics, Pune 


JNCASR – Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Bangalore


NBRC – National Brain Research Centre, Manesar


NCRA TIFR – National Centre for Radio Astrophysics, TIFR, Pune


NISER – National Institute of Science Education and Research, Bhubaneswar


PRL – Physical Research Laboratory, Ahmedabad


RRCAT – Raja Ramanna Centre for Advanced Technology, Indore


RRI – Raman Research Institute, Bangalore


SINP – Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics, Kolkata


SNBNCBS – Satyendra Nath Bose National Centre for Basic Sciences, Kolkata


TIFR TCIS – TIFR Centre for Interdisciplinary Sciences, Hyderabad


TIFR – Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai


UGC DAE CSR – UGC-DAE Consortium for Scientific Research, Indore


VECC – Variable Energy Cyclotron Centre, Kolkata